My Creative Voice

Trying to add value, make sense of what's coming next and keeping things going in the same direction.

Change is Good

Leave a comment

I was sitting doing some writing exercises the other day and I started thinking about change.  What would I change if I could ?  And this is what I came up with:

What would I change about you if I could ?

Would I change your outsides ?

Your hair, your eyes, your shape

Where to start ?

What would I change about you if I could ?

Would I change your insides ?

Your mind, your heart, your very soul

Where to start ?

What would I change about you if I could ?

Would I change your workings ?

Your thoughts, your words, your feelings

Where to start ?

To change your outsides

What would that prove ?

That color means nothing

That a shape can be molded ?

To change your insides

Would that provide calm

For you, for me, for others

Do your insides long for a rest ?

To change your workings

Your tick tock, your springs, your coils

What would that prove ?

That your thoughts are not your own anyway ?

What would I change about me if I could.

My outsides

My insides

My workings

What would that prove ?

That they were right all along

That you aren’t really good enough

For them

For you

For me

What would I change about me if I could ?

Nothing

Everything

Somethings

Just enough to show that I am good enough for me.

What would that prove ?

That being good enough for me

Is all that matters anyway …

Author: Elizabeth Plouffe

Writer, communicator, entrepreneur, tea enthusiast (bordering on fanatic) who enjoys helping others connect. Cookbook reader, cottage lover, book devourer (apparently I make up my own language too) and seeker of the ambition to exercise.

Leave a Reply

