My Creative Voice

Trying to add value, make sense of what's coming next and keeping things going in the same direction.

MyCV Photography

On The Job – I’m Now ON THE JOB

Leave a comment

Phew it’s been a busy two weeks ! I am ecstatic to report that I am officially employed ! Yeah !  Not only am I employed in a job not requiring a hair net (it was getting a bit touch and go financially around here) but I’m employed by a terrific company doing what I’ve been educated and trained to do. How did this wondrous event occur you ask ? Other than my magnetic personality drawing all things positive my way I mean. Networking. Networking. Networking.  If you too are flirting with the idea of sporting polyester on your backside and a spider web of hygiene on your hair, don’t despair: get out and network !

Warning: this post may be punctuated with a lot of !!!!! as I’m quite excited and feel the need to convey this.  Apologies to my professor who abhorred !!! and made us swear to banish unnecessary !!!! from our dictum.

I had a Faberge Shampoo moment when one friend told another friend that we should connect.  That friend and I connected and we hit it off like peanut butter and jelly.  Then that new friend told another friend that we should meet.  The new connection and I hit it off like Bubble and Squeak.  Three days after making Bubble and Squeak (which is not a euphemism for anything) with the newest connection I was offered a job.  This job is turning in to the perfect fit and I am beyond thrilled. Networking like a crazy person finally paid off !

I am able to be creative, solve problems, plan events, network, meet new people and pay forward the generosity that was shown to me by my connections.  The company that I now work for makes a business out of connecting innovative entrepreneurs with industries or venture capitalists in order to get their idea happening or happening better.  And I get to be a part of that.  I get to be instrumental in helping new technologies, services or products make it to the marketplace. Holy crap that is so cool !!!!!!!!!!

I probably should have known something funky was in the works when my job started on Halloween.  My new job started with me taking over a three-day event which was scheduled to happen 7 days after I started.  I guess I was going to have to do some tricks for getting such an amazing treat.  All tricks aside, the event turned out great, my new boss was happy, I bonded with my co-workers, I got to chat with Ralph Benmurgui (holy crap again!) and next week marks the third week of my foray in to the role of Marketing, Communications and Events coordinator for HalTech RIC.

I’ve not yet had a chance to connect with all the generous people who met with me over the past two months and re-thank them.  I wouldn’t be able to live with myself if I didn’t.  Of course I sent a hand written note thanking them for meeting with me initially but I’d like them to know that they played a role in my current success.  I’d like them to know, which I’m sure they already do, that their willingness to network is important and beyond helpful.  Look how it helped me !!!  I’d like them to know that I’m paying it forward with a student currently enrolled in the program I just graduated from.  I’d like them to know that they are now colleagues and I’m thankful.  Oh yes – and excited !!!!!

 

Author: Elizabeth Plouffe

Writer, communicator, entrepreneur, tea enthusiast (bordering on fanatic) who enjoys helping others connect. Cookbook reader, cottage lover, book devourer (apparently I make up my own language too) and seeker of the ambition to exercise.

Leave a Reply

